Here Is All the Information You Need About SAFe® SPC Certification!



Globally, businesses are expanding both in size and scope, and new organization strategies are needed to adapt.

The Scaled Agile Framework was introduced to assist these organizations in transforming themselves into lean-agile.

SAFe® is now taking over traditional organizations, which makes its implementation important for professionals.

The SAFe® Program Consultant plays an important role here. Learn what SAFeSPC Certification is and how to become SPC certified in this article.

What Is The SAFe Program Consultant Certification Program?

The Certified SAFe® Program Consultant (SPC) is a change agent who combines the knowledge of SAFe with an intrinsic interest in improving the company’s software development process. They are an integral part of successfully implementing SAFe.

SPCs work at an enterprise implementing the Scaled Agile Framework in order to meet the challenges involved with large-scale software delivery and achieve business agility.

As part of SAFe transformation, leaders and coaches are responsible for leading and coaching SPCs. SPCs guide the organization’s implementation of SAFe’s 12-step process

(see diagram below).

What Is The Process Of Becoming An Certified SPC?

In order to become a Certified SAFe Program Consultant, you must attend a course called Implementing SAFe, where you will learn how SAFe principles and practices can be applied to Lean-Agile transformations.

The following enrolment on the course, you will receive an invitation to join the SAFe Community Platform, which provides comprehensive preparation materials, an online workbook, and the opportunity to take a practice exam.

If you achieve certification, you will have access to SAFe tools, courseware, and other resources easily.

An SPC Has The Following Responsibilities:

An SPC Has The Following Responsibilities

  • You are responsible for facilitating your organization’s agile business journey by expanding SAFe® implementation across the organization.
  • The reason why your organization needs to implement SAFe® needs to be communicated effectively. In your role as a change agent, you are responsible for creating a vision of change and emphasizing the urgency of transition.
  • There are certain standards and assumptions underlying the SAFe® Framework. SAFe® consultants are able to select an organizational support framework.
  • In order to implement SAFe® in your organization, you will then need to develop a customized approach and roadmap.
  • Following the roadmap, you will need to develop a plan for implementing SAFe®.
  • It is imperative that the different units of the organization are properly trained in order to implement SAFe® effectively. Training executives, managers, and leaders will be part of your responsibilities as a SAFe® trainer. A SAFe® training program is also required for different teams within the organization.

As a result, we find that an SPC performs a very different role when SAFe® is implemented. You will learn how to fulfill these roles by taking an SPC course.

How To Get Certified?

KnowledgeHut certification for SPC is a straightforward process that anyone can complete. The following requirements should be met by anyone working in an Agile transformation environment:

  • An extensive background in software development, testing, business analysis, product management, or other related fields.
  • 3+ years of Agile experience.
  • Accredited Agile certification.

You can enroll in a four-day SPC Training course with an established coaching center after meeting the requirements.

In the second step, you will be required to take the test to determine your level of knowledge. Finally, upon passing the exam, you will receive a SAFe® Program Consultant Certificate.

How To Pass The SPC Exam?

How To Pass The SPC Exam

The exam must be taken within 30 days of attending the 4-day course. Scaled Agile Community Platform will be used to administer the exam.

Currently, there are 60 multiple choice questions with a passing score of 75% or higher and a 2hr time limit. A retake costs $250.

The Community Platform contains a practice test with a format and difficulty that mirror the actual test.

There is no limit to how many times you can take this exam, but the questions stay the same, although the order changes.

Who Should Become An SPC?

An SPC is typically someone who is an expert in SAFe and is willing to train others in how to use it or someone who works as a change agent at an organization undergoing a SAFe transformation.

A skilled SPC is usually either hired externally as a consultant or hired internally as a new employee. Good SPC candidates for internal training may come from the following positions:

  • Business and technology leader
  • Portfolio/program/project manager
  • Architect
  • Analyst
  • Process lead

A SAFe implementation is highly recommended to be successful when the newly certified SPCs are supported by experienced SPCs.

Final Thought

This article aims to provide you with a good understanding of what an SPC is, as well as a look at the Implementing SAFe training course and certification process.

Here are two key takeaways:

  • It is an intensive learning experience. There are many challenges of transformation within organizations at various levels, and the course provides an overview of many of them. It is necessary to further study some of these topics to understand them because they are advanced or complex.

There are many varying backgrounds of SPCS. The SAFe practitioner performs the responsibilities of an SPC full-time, while Lean-Agile leaders want to play an integral role in the implementation of SAFe.

This makes them different from each other, but both have the responsibility of leading change!

Read Also:

Tags Certified SAFe® Program Need About SAFe SAFe Community Platform SAFe tools SAFe transformation SAFe's 12-step process SAFe® Program Consultant
author image

Arnab Das is a passionate blogger who loves to write on different niches like technologies, dating, finance, fashion, travel, and much more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *